Thanks M.O.M.

Posted: June 16, 2010 in Training
Tags: , , ,

If you don’t mind…it doesn’t matter.

I’m sure you’ve heard this saying, but even if you haven’t….read it, take it in, understand it and let its power help you. It can be used in many areas of life but for this post, training specifically.

The power of the mind can be awe inspiring and you often hear that we don’t use anywhere near its full potential.  Add to that the stories of the mother who lifted a car off her child or, more simply, walking over hot coals, and you can start to get an idea of how strong the mind can be…and how strong the mind can make the body. You can even say the mind is more powerful than the body.

Use your brain the right way, tap into it’s power and you’ll surprise yourself. Give into any seed of doubt planted in the brain and you will find yourself not growing and not reaching your potential.

Mind over matter can be surprisingly strong. As an example, a couple of weeks ago while training with my bro, it was his turn to do a set of weighted push-ups. We determined what weight he should use based on the previous week and once he got into  position I piled on the plates and he pumped out the required number of reps. It was only afterward, when I took the plates off his back, that he looked at the weights, turned to me and said “dude, is that what you put on my back?” I replied “yea, of course” and then realized I had placed an extra 25lbs, yet he blasted out the reps thinking it was less than what it actually was! Simple explanation: Mind Over Matter!

He can thank me for that personal best! 😉

I’m sure you may have had similar training or even life experiences. I know I have. A number of times training by myself and simple arithmetic not at it’s best left me thinking the bar had less weight than what it actually did. But time again, I always ended up doing the same number of reps, if not more, that was required for the lighter weight. Thanks M.O.M!

Now obviously you can’t purposely trick your mind. But the point is that you have to stop holding back. Don’t be afraid to do more reps or to go heavier (women take note).  Without risking injury or crap form, surprise yourself once in awhile by adding an extra 5, 10 or so pounds to your lift Besides, you should always be aiming to do more (reps, weight etc) than the previous workout. The mind is a powerful weapon and will surprise you.

If you really want to get jacked up and shredded….you have to tap into the power of mind over matter.

I wish that I had pushed myself harder and realized the power of the mind when I first started out. Even today I catch myself sometimes holding back but then force myself to go heavier, to do more reps, to do that extra set of sprints or whatever. And the results have all been positive.

M.O.M can be applied to dieting too…it’s simple will power and knowing what you want and what it takes to get there. Do you have what it takes? Are you strong enough mentally? Do you have the power to push through? The answer should be YES to all of these…

As my dad always tells me: successful people do what unsuccessful people don’t like doing!

Let M.O.M help you, I mean after all…how many times has she been there for you time and again and helped you throughout the years growing up?! 🙂

Straight up thanks to my mom! (yes..a play on words)

Matthew B

Comments
  1. Yup, Mindset is a HUUUUGE part of almost everything in life, if you want to be successful. Great post. Keep ’em coming!!

    J

Leave a Reply

