No excuses training…finding a solution!

Posted: October 26, 2011 in Exercise, Training
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

What’s up guys!?

Quick update on me and my training recently.

For the last coupe months I’ve been dealing with a faulty hip…technically both hips if we really get down to it. My left hip has been “clicking” on and off and I notice it when simply walking. No pain however and as such I have been able to do my training (phew!). My right hip on the other hand has been quite painful. Something to do with my hip flexor and squatting has not been fun to do. Prolonged sitting does not seem to help either…which makes sense (will save the anatomy lesson for now). Side note tip: if sitting for prolonged periods is part of your job, do yourself a favor and be sure to get up, stretch, and walk around every so often to keep the muscles, joints, and ligaments fresh and loose.

Now of course, as much of an ‘iron head‘ that I am, I have not stopped training nor have I stopped squatting. That would be just plain crazy! Even though it’s probably just what I need to do. My squat weight has struggled to go up in recent months (a sign that something may be wrong) and the pain just won’t go away.

Oh how I will miss thee...

With that being said, in my current phase of training (as of yesterdays lower body workout) I have decided to at least temporarily STOP doing squats! For those that know me, this is a sad day! However, no excuses and my training will continue and I will find ways around squats. There are a number of great options to do, though none can top the squat. But, better to stop and fix myself now so I can get back to squatting ASAP.

The key point here is you sometimes have to work around injuries and can’t be stupid or stubborn about it. I don’t know about you, but I’ve decided to change my ways and I’d much rather fix the problem sooner than later and be back to my old self than let things linger and most likely get worse! So, what can you do instead of squats? Leg presses would be a great alternative. You can pile on lots of weight and still get some decent strength and size gains. Unfortunately for me, I tried leg press and it’s a no go for my right hip. Next?! Step ups, lunges, split squats, etc. I’ll be trying a mix of these over the next couple weeks or more and see how things go. Sadly, nothing can replace the Squat and the slabs of muscle it can put on your legs but I’ll be damned if I don’t try alternatives based on current situations. The worst thing to do is stop training completely. Hell no!

With that being said, yesterdays workout:

Warm-up: including jumping jacks, flings, frankensteins, general body mobility drills, glute holds…

1)Step ups 2×7, 1×20 (Be sure to keep the back foot flat and minimize it’s involvement and drive with the lead leg)

2)BB Shrugs 2×5-7, 1×10

3a)Standing calf raise 2×5-7, 1×20 (always focus on letting the calf stretch out for a couple seconds at the bottom part of the movement before each rep)

b)Incline db curl 2×5-7, 1×10

4)Db reverse wrist curl 2×12-15

Abs.

It was a solid workout and i’m feeling nice and jacked today. Don’t make excuses with your training…find a solution.

Over the next couple of weeks i’ll be doing my best to get my hip back to squatting form. This will include massage, foam rolling, stretching, etc and taking the advise of some pretty knowledgeable guys. One in particular that has taken time to give me some tips is Keith Scott, and I thank him greatly. Check out his awesome site, he knows his stuff!!

Hit me up with any questions or comments!

Straight up,

Matt B

Leave a Reply

